Short answer: of nine customer success platforms, only GainTrace and Gainsight score expansion as its own model. GainTrace's expansion score updates in real time as signals change; Gainsight's documentation says monthly. The other seven publish no expansion model at all, which means you cannot evaluate the capability before you pay for it.

The finding

Nine customer success platforms, read at the documentation layer rather than the sales page. One question: does this tool tell you an account is about to buy more, or only that it already did?

  • Two platforms score expansion as its own model. GainTrace and Gainsight. Everyone else either bolts it onto a health score or does not attempt it.
  • Of those two, the cadence could hardly differ more. GainTrace states its expansion score "updates in real time as signals change." Gainsight's documentation states its data science likelihood score is updated on a monthly basis.
  • Four platforms claim expansion detection and publish no model. Custify, Velaris, ChurnZero and Totango.
  • Three do not claim it at all. Planhat, Vitally and ClientSuccess report growth rates, which is accounting, not detection.

The category has spent a decade building risk detection. Expansion got the leftovers, and it shows in what the vendors are willing to put in writing.

Expansion is not the opposite of churn

Most platforms here were architected to answer one question: which accounts are in trouble? Expansion arrived later, and the usual implementation is to run the same health score and read the top of it.

That does not work, because the two signals look nothing alike.

A churn signal is an absence. Logins stop. A champion goes quiet. Tickets pile up. You are watching for things that should be happening and are not.

An expansion signal is a collision. Usage runs into a limit. A team grows past its seat count. API calls approach a cap. Someone adopts a premium feature on a plan that does not include it. You are watching for a customer pressing against the edges of what they bought.

An account can be pressing hard against every limit it has and still show a mediocre health score, because heavy use generates support tickets and frustration. The healthiest-looking accounts are often the ones comfortably inside their plan, which is to say the ones with nothing left to sell.

Reading the top of a health score finds satisfied customers. Finding expansion means watching for constraint.

This page is about tools. If you want the method for turning those signals into a forecast, stages, entry criteria and coverage ratios, that is covered separately in the expansion pipeline model.

Two charts comparing a churn signal.
A churn signal is something that should be happening and is not. An expansion signal is something pressing against a limit. Health scores are built to find the first.

What each platform publishes

PLATFORMEXPANSION SCORED SEPARATELYMODEL OR CADENCE PUBLISHEDWRITES OPPORTUNITIES TO CRMCOST/YR
GainTraceYes5 named signals, updates in real timeYes, scores, reasons and actions~$990
GainsightYesExplainable Boosting Machines, updated monthlyYes, Renewal Center~$50,000
CustifySeparate feature, model not statedNot publishedNot published~$16,800
VelarisNot statedNot publishedNot stated~$20,000
ChurnZeroNot statedNot publishedNot stated~$44,700
Totango, now OdieNot statedNot publishedNot stated~$66,200
PlanhatNo claimn/aNot stated~$41,300
ClientSuccessNo claimn/aNot stated~$19,500
VitallyNo claim at alln/aNot stated~$34,000
Nine platforms against the expansion question. Claims are quoted from each vendor's own marketing; model and cadence reflect published documentation only. Costs are verified median annual contract values.

Two columns carry the whole market. Expansion scored separately has two entries. Model or cadence published has two. Everything else is a blank, and a blank means you cannot evaluate it before you pay.

How fast is your expansion signal?

This is what decides the category, and only two vendors say anything about it.

A seat-utilisation spike is perishable in a way a churn signal is not. When a team hits its licence ceiling, somebody inside that company is already solving the problem: filing a request, sharing a login, or quietly evaluating a competitor that costs less per seat. You have days, not months.

Put the two published cadences against that:

GainTrace states the score "updates in real time as signals change." A seat cap hit on Tuesday morning is a Tuesday morning signal.

Gainsight documents that its data science likelihood score is updated on a monthly basis, learning from the pattern of past closed renewals. A limit hit on the 3rd reaches the score on the 1st of the following month, by which time the customer has either solved it themselves or started shopping.

One updates as the signal occurs. The other updates twelve times a year. Both descriptions are the vendors' own, not ours.

Timeline showing a seat cap hit at day zero
The window to act closes in days, not weeks. The other seven platforms state no expansion cadence at all.

To be fair to Gainsight, monthly is a defensible choice for what its model is actually built for. It is a renewal likelihood model that happens to produce upsell and downsell variants, and renewals are scheduled events you can see coming a quarter out. Monthly is fine for a renewal. It is far too slow for a seat cap.

The other seven publish no cadence at all, which means you cannot ask this question of them without a sales call.

Scores expansion as its own model

GainTrace

The only platform that publishes both a named signal list and a stated cadence for expansion.

This is our product, so here is exactly what we publish, held to the same standard as everything else on this page.

GainTrace maintains an expansion readiness score that is separate from the health score, not derived from it. Its own wording is that accounts are "scored separately from risk, so a growing account is never mistaken for a safe one." It reads five named signals: feature adoption spikes, seat utilisation limits, API call growth, NPS sentiment shifts, and billing plan mismatches.

Every one of those is a constraint signal. None of them is "this customer seems happy."

Those signals are drawn from five sources: product usage through Mixpanel, PostHog or Amplitude, billing events through Stripe or ChartMogul, CRM engagement through Salesforce or HubSpot, support ticket sentiment, and NPS and survey responses. The score "updates in real time as signals change." That is a different cadence from the GainTrace health score, which recomputes every six hours, because a seat count changing or a billing event firing is a discrete event rather than a composite that has to be recalculated.

What happens to the output. GainTrace writes expansion scores, the signal reasons behind them, and recommended actions directly into Salesforce as custom fields and opportunity records. That distinction matters more than it sounds. A dashboard tile requires someone to go and look at it. An opportunity record appears in the pipeline your revenue team already reviews every week, with the reason attached, which means the signal gets worked rather than admired.

What it costs. $99 a month, or $990 billed annually, for 100 tracked companies with unlimited seats. There is a permanently free plan covering 25 companies, no credit card, which is the only way on this list to test an expansion score against your own data without a sales conversation.

Where we are weaker. We do not name our algorithm. Gainsight does, and if a named, auditable model is a procurement requirement, that is a real point against us. We also do not have Gainsight's years of closed-renewal history to train on, which is a genuine advantage for a model that learns from outcomes.

More detail on how GainTrace finds expansion.

Gainsight

The best-documented expansion model in the category, running on the wrong clock.

Gainsight is the only vendor here that names its algorithm. Renewal Center calculates data science scores using an Explainable Boosting Machines model, falling back to a Bayesian model below 50 records. Critically for this page, it builds separate models for each opportunity type across upsell, downsell and renewal, which means expansion genuinely is scored as its own thing rather than inferred from health.

Its documentation states the likelihood score is generated from the success or failure of past renewals, including renewals with upsell and downsell, and is updated on a monthly basis by learning the pattern of past closed renewals.

That is a real, inspectable specification, and more than anyone else publishes. It also tells you exactly what the product is: a renewal forecasting engine with expansion variants, not a live signal detector.

What it costs you. Around $50,000 a year, 6 to 26 weeks to implement, and a dedicated administrator. The scorecards that feed it resolve nightly at 23:59 UTC; the expansion likelihood layer on top of them updates monthly. Full detail in our Gainsight pricing analysis.

Who should buy it. Enterprises with a renewals desk, a Salesforce-centred stack, years of closed-won and closed-lost history, and an expansion motion that runs on a quarterly rhythm rather than a weekly one. For that company, the model quality is worth the cadence.

Claims expansion detection, publishes no model

These four market expansion capability. None publishes a model, a signal list, or a refresh interval. The capability may well be there; you simply cannot check before you buy.

Custify

The most specific of the four. Custify lists Customer Health and Expansion and Growth as distinct product features, which is more structural separation than most, and its copy commits: "Identify renewal, growth and upsell opportunities" and "Spot opportunities, engage, expand, repeat. Custify's CS software never misses a signal that a customer is ready to grow." It heads a section "Train Your Always-on Expansion Engine."

Never misses a signal is a strong claim. No model, signal list or cadence is published to support it, and the documentation does not state whether expansion uses an independent score or reads the health score.

One genuine capability worth crediting: Custify reads tone and intent in customer emails and messages. Buying intent often appears in a sentence before it appears in usage data, and most of this list cannot see conversations at all.

Around $16,800 a year, 4 to 8 weeks. See Custify pricing.

Velaris

Velaris makes the boldest paired claim on the page: "Predict churn and expansion with AI-enriched intelligence", alongside "Which customers show expansion potential?" and "Catch churn and expansion signals early."

It also does something none of the others advertise: "Connects invoice, contract, ARR, renewal, and payment data so CSMs can spot commercial risks and revenue opportunities earlier." Commercial data is genuinely where plan mismatches live, and reading it is the right instinct.

What is not published: whether expansion is scored separately from churn risk, any model, any cadence, or whether opportunities are written back to a CRM. Velaris also publishes no refresh interval for its scoring generally, so you cannot tell how current any of it is.

Around $20,000 a year, roughly 8 weeks, administrator required. See Velaris pricing.

ChurnZero

ChurnZero lists "Retain & Expand Accounts" as a solution category and cites a "100% increase in account growth" as a customer outcome. Beyond the category label, nothing about expansion scoring, signals or cadence is published.

Its ChurnScore documentation is genuinely detailed, covering product usage, support history, team feedback, satisfaction and risk rating with guidance on weighting five to seven factors. All of it is risk documentation. There is no expansion equivalent.

Around $44,700 a year, 4 to 6 weeks. See ChurnZero pricing and ChurnZero alternatives.

Totango, now Odie

Totango's growth positioning rests on the same AI work behind its churn intelligence, acquired from Parative AI, and its marketing describes identifying growth opportunities alongside risk. As with churn, models are built by its services team for large deployments, so there is no standard specification to publish and none is published.

Two practical notes carried from our other research. Totango is now one of three products under the Odie brand, and the company describes Totango and Catalyst as legacy products while stating existing contracts are unchanged. Separately, totango.com/pricing returns a 404, so a new buyer cannot evaluate cost from the public site.

Around $66,200 a year, the most expensive here. See Totango pricing.

Reports expansion, does not detect it

Three platforms make no expansion detection claim. They measure expansion after it happens, which is a reporting function, and they are straightforward about it.

Vitally makes no expansion claim anywhere on its site. Its language is about health scores, visibility and automation. It has the fastest documented health refresh of the nine at hourly and the clearest published limits, including a ceiling of 10 health scores with 50 properties total. If expansion detection matters to you, that ceiling is worth noting, because building an expansion score inside a health-score budget consumes it. Around $34,000. See Vitally pricing.

Planhat makes no expansion detection claim. It cites "900% seat expansion" as a case study result, which is an outcome rather than a feature, and its scoring language is "dynamically score health." Around $41,300 a year, 8 to 16 weeks, the longest implementation here. See Planhat pricing.

ClientSuccess offers "Gain visibility into retention, renewal, and growth rates", which is precisely the distinction this page is drawing. Visibility into a growth rate is a report on the past. Its SuccessScore health metric recalculates daily and there is no expansion equivalent. Around $19,500. See ClientSuccess pricing.

None of the three is worse for declining the claim. Two of them document their scoring mechanics more thoroughly than vendors that do claim expansion detection.

Which users are driving the growth?

This is the question that separates an expansion signal from an expansion number, and almost nothing on this list answers it.

Knowing an account's usage grew 40% tells you to call someone. Knowing that the growth came from eleven new users in one department, none of whom have licences, tells you what to say, who to say it to, and roughly what the deal is worth. The first is a prompt. The second is a brief.

Across the nine, only GainTrace publishes user-level attribution for expansion signals: "GainTrace tracks product usage per user, not just per account, so you can see which individual users are adopting new features fastest, inviting teammates, and hitting plan limits." Custify's conversational reading gets at intent from a different angle, catching a stated need before usage reflects it. The remaining seven publish account-level figures only.

If your expansion motion depends on knowing which team inside a company is growing, this is the specific thing to press on in a demo, because no vendor will volunteer that it only reports at account level.

How to tell a signal from a report

Four questions. All are answerable in a real deployment, and none can be answered from a slide.

1. Is the expansion score separate from the health score, or derived from it?
If it is derived, you will surface comfortable customers rather than constrained ones. Ask to see an account with a mediocre health score and a high expansion score. If that combination cannot exist in the product, you have one model wearing two labels.

2. How often does the expansion score update, in hours or days?
Only two of nine state it at all. One says real time, one says monthly. Everyone else should be asked directly, and asked in writing.

3. Show me an account that expanded, and what the score did in the 30 days before.
The single best question here. It reveals immediately whether the score moved in advance or only caught up afterwards. A score that rises after the upsell closes is a report.

4. Where does the signal land?
A dashboard tile requires someone to go looking. A CRM opportunity record with the reason attached lands in a pipeline review that already happens. Ask which one you are buying, because the difference decides whether signals get worked or ignored.

Choosing between the two that qualify

Only two platforms here score expansion as its own model, so the real decision is between them.

Choose GainTrace if your expansion signals are perishable. Seat caps, usage limits, API ceilings and plan mismatches all decay within days. Real-time signal updates, five named signals, user-level attribution, opportunity records written into Salesforce with the reason attached, $99 a month, live in about a week with no administrator. You can test it against your own data on the free plan before speaking to anyone. We do not name our model, which is the honest trade.

Choose Gainsight if your expansion motion runs on a quarterly rhythm. It is the only platform publishing a named, auditable algorithm with separate models per opportunity type, and if you have years of closed-renewal history and a renewals desk to work the output, that model quality is real. Accept roughly $50,000 a year, an administrator, months of implementation, and an expansion score that updates monthly.

If your earliest signal is a conversation rather than a click, look at Custify's sentiment reading on its own merits and treat the expansion claim as unverified.

If you want strong health scoring and no expansion theatre, Vitally, Planhat and ClientSuccess all describe accurately what they do.

On a tighter budget, see customer success software under $10k. If risk rather than growth is the pressing problem, churn prevention software applies the same method to the other half of the job.

How we checked

Every claim here comes from what each vendor publishes itself: marketing pages for claims, and help centre or support documentation for specifications. Marketing language is quoted word for word so you can see exactly what is promised.

Where a vendor publishes no model, no cadence or no CRM behaviour, this page records that rather than inferring a value. Absence of documentation is not proof a capability is missing. It means you cannot verify it before purchase, which is the point being made.

Costs are verified median annual contract values rather than list prices, carried from the per-vendor pricing analyses linked above.

GainTrace is our own product. Its figures come from our public product and pricing pages and are held to the same standard as every other entry, including where we document less than a competitor does.

Review-site ratings, analyst rankings and vendor-supplied case studies were not used as sources for any capability claim on this page.

Frequently asked questions

What is expansion revenue software?
Software that identifies which existing customers are ready to buy more, by watching for signals that they are pressing against the limits of what they already have. It is distinct from reporting tools that measure expansion after it closes. Of nine platforms reviewed, two score expansion as a separate model and three make no expansion detection claim at all.
Which software automatically identifies revenue expansion opportunities?
GainTrace and Gainsight are the only two of the nine that score expansion as its own model rather than reading the health score. GainTrace publishes five named signals, states the score updates in real time as signals change, and writes opportunities into Salesforce. Gainsight documents an Explainable Boosting Machines model with separate upsell, downsell and renewal variants, updated monthly. The other seven publish no expansion model.
Can expansion be predicted from a customer health score?
Poorly. A health score measures whether a customer is succeeding; an expansion signal measures whether they are constrained. Accounts pressing hardest against seat caps and usage limits often carry middling health scores, because heavy use generates tickets and friction. Reading the top of a health score surfaces comfortable customers, which are frequently the ones with nothing left to sell.
What counts as an expansion signal?
Constraint signals rather than satisfaction signals: seat utilisation approaching the licensed limit, feature adoption spikes, API call growth against a cap, usage of functionality the current plan does not include, and billing plan mismatches. Conversational signals matter too, since a stated need often precedes the usage that would reveal it.
How often should an expansion score update?
Fast enough to act before the customer solves the problem themselves. A team hitting a seat cap resolves it within days by requesting licences, sharing logins, or evaluating alternatives. GainTrace states its expansion score updates in real time as signals change; Gainsight's likelihood score updates monthly. No other platform states a cadence.
Is there a way to track which users drive account expansion?
Only GainTrace publishes user-level attribution among the nine, tracking seat utilisation and feature adoption against the customer's current plan. The other eight publish account-level figures only, which tells you an account is growing but not which team is driving it or what to propose.
What is the cheapest expansion revenue software?
GainTrace at $99 a month, or $990 billed annually, is the lowest here and has a permanently free plan for 25 companies. Custify is next at roughly $16,800 a year, then ClientSuccess near $19,500. Gainsight at around $50,000 and Totango at around $66,200 are the most expensive.
Do these tools write opportunities into Salesforce?
Two publish that they do. GainTrace writes expansion scores, signal reasons and recommended actions into Salesforce as custom fields and opportunity records. Gainsight creates opportunities in Renewal Center. The other seven do not publish whether expansion output reaches a CRM or stays in a dashboard, which is worth confirming, since a signal nobody sees is not acted on.
Is expansion revenue software the same as a customer success platform?
No, though most expansion capability today ships inside one. Customer success platforms were built to detect risk, and expansion was added later, usually as a view on the same health data. That architectural history is why so few publish a separate expansion model.