Benchmark customer success metrics only after matching five things: the metric definition, the population, the data year, the sample behind that specific chart, and whether the figure came from a survey or a billing platform. Seven publishers released B2B SaaS data worth reading as of 2026, four of which support a direct comparison. Most customer success metrics have no credible public benchmark at all.
Benchmark customer success metrics for long enough and you notice the numbers do not agree. One report puts median net revenue retention at 101%, another at 82%. One says the average team carries 35 accounts per CSM, and cannot say where that came from. Your board asked how you compare with companies like yours, and the honest first answer is that most of what you will find on the first page of results was copied from something else.
This page is for a Head or VP of Customer Success who has to put a comparison in front of a board. It names the seven publishers releasing B2B SaaS data worth reading as of 2026 and which four support a direct comparison, the five facts that have to travel with any number, the nine metrics where no trustworthy public figure exists, and the method for benchmarking against your own accounts when nothing external fits.
- Four published sources support a like-for-like comparison of retention: SaaS Capital September 2025, High Alpha 2025, Benchmarkit with Pavilion May 2025, and ChartMogul December 2025 for the self-serve end of the market.
- Quote the sample behind the chart, not the headline. Benchmarkit reports 583 participants but its retention charts carry 225 and 228, its expansion chart 81, and one expansion cell rests on six companies.
- Survey data and billing-platform data disagree by 19 points on B2B SaaS net revenue retention, 101% against 82%, because they measure different populations. Neither is the industry number.
- Accounts per CSM, CS spend as a share of revenue, renewal forecast accuracy and time to first value have no trustworthy public benchmark, so any figure you find for them was copied from a blog that invented it.
- When no published figure fits, benchmark against your own accounts: segment against segment, cohort against cohort, this year against last, with the definition written down once.
Questions this page answers
- Where do I find real CS benchmarks for a company our size?
- What is a good NRR for a company at our contract value?
- Are SaaS benchmark reports actually reliable?
- How many accounts per CSM is the industry standard?
- Why does every benchmark report give a different number for retention?
- How do I benchmark our customer success team without a published figure?
- What benchmarks should I put in a board deck?
- Can I benchmark customer success metrics against similar companies at all?
- Which published sources can I use to benchmark customer success metrics in 2026?
- Why do two benchmark sources disagree by 19 points on the same metric?
- Which customer success metrics have no trustworthy benchmark?
- How do I benchmark customer success metrics against my own accounts?
- What should a benchmark slide for customer success metrics show?
- How does GainTrace help benchmark customer success metrics?
Can I benchmark customer success metrics against similar companies at all?
A benchmark receipt is the five facts that must travel with any external number you put on a slide: publisher and data year, population, the sample behind that specific chart, the metric definition, and whether the figure came from a survey or from platform data. A number without its receipt is an opinion with a decimal point.
Benchmark customer success metrics against similar companies and you can get a defensible answer for retention, expansion share and team size, and almost nothing else. Retention is well covered because investors want it: four independent publishers put out B2B SaaS retention data during 2025 with disclosed samples. Everything downstream of retention, meaning coverage ratios, CS cost, onboarding duration and forecast accuracy, is either unmeasured or measured by someone selling software to the people being measured.
“We would like them to do more webinars and/or events to do networking and have a broader benchmark about how other SaaS companies are dealing with churn, expansion, etc.”
That request appears in a review corpus where benchmarking is otherwise almost absent: 14 of 4,978 public customer success platform reviews mention a benchmark at all (0.3%), and most of those mean an internal target rather than an industry figure. The Reddit corpus behaves the same way. Of 33,600 posts from May 2024 to September 2026, 76 mention benchmarks and most of those are about salary. Practitioners want peer comparison and do not have it, which is why a recycled number travels so far.
One structural warning before any of the sources below. Nearly every SaaS benchmark is a self-selected survey: the publisher broadcasts it to its own audience and its partners' portfolios, and companies having a bad year are less likely to answer. Benchmarkit says so about its own three-year decline in gross retention, attributing part of it to "selection bias of participants". Treat every survey median as the median of companies willing to be measured.
Which published sources can I use to benchmark customer success metrics in 2026?
Seven publishers released usable B2B SaaS data in 2024 to 2026, and four of them support a direct comparison of your own numbers. The table gives each one's population, its published sample and what it can fairly be used for. Note the data year rather than the publication date: a report published in 2026 usually describes 2024 or 2025 performance.
| Publisher and date | What it covers | Sample as published | Use it for |
|---|---|---|---|
| SaaS Capital, September 2025 | Net and gross revenue retention by contract value, contract length and funding type, 2025 data | More than 1,000 private B2B SaaS companies, 14th annual survey fielded in Q1 2025, medians | Retention by average contract value. The widest ACV cut anyone publishes, including quartiles |
| High Alpha, 2025 (formerly the OpenView SaaS Benchmarks Report) | Retention, growth, expansion share of net new ARR, CAC payback, headcount by department, Q2 2025 data | More than 800 respondents, 69% United States, syndicated through 40 or more venture partners, medians with quartiles | Retention by ARR band and by ACV, and customer success plus support as a share of all employees |
| Benchmarkit and Pavilion, May 2025 | Net and gross revenue retention, expansion share, ARR per employee, CY2024 data | 583 participants overall, but 225 on gross retention, 228 on net retention and 81 on expansion | Three-year trend and cuts by pricing model. Quote the per-chart sample, never the headline |
| ChartMogul, December 2025 | Retention measured from billing data across 2025, including AI-native companies | About 2,700 B2B SaaS companies at or above $250,000 ARR on a subscription-analytics platform | The self-serve and small end of the market only. Never present its median as the B2B SaaS median |
| Mostly Metrics, January 2026 | How customer success teams are staffed, structured and paid, and who owns expansion | 132 tech companies, self-selected, published by an independent finance newsletter | Comp structure and expansion ownership. Its renewal-rate quartiles are stated as approximate |
| KeyBanc and Sapphire, November 2025 | Gross retention, growth, plus AI monetisation in private SaaS | Not disclosed in the public release. The full report is gated | Direction of travel only. Do not use it for a precise comparison |
| Userpilot, June 2024 | Activation rate, time to value and feature adoption from product analytics | 547 SaaS companies, first-party analytics data, mean or median not stated | End-user activation inside a product. Not account-level onboarding duration, which it does not measure |
Two anchors from the table, for calibration. SaaS Capital's September 2025 brief puts median net revenue retention at 101% and median gross revenue retention at 91% across more than 1,000 private B2B SaaS companies, and concludes that gross retention "must be at least 90%" for a company to have a shot at parity with its peers. High Alpha's 2025 report puts median gross retention between 88% and 92% depending on the ARR band, from more than 800 respondents. Two independent self-selected surveys landing within three points is the strongest agreement in this whole field. Renewal rate is the one to treat with more care: the only figure we could source, around 91% a year from 132 tech companies in January 2026, is stated as approximate by its own author, so use it as a sanity check on your own renewal management numbers and nothing more.
Why do two benchmark sources disagree by 19 points on the same metric?
Survey-based and platform-based benchmarks disagree by 19 points on B2B SaaS net revenue retention, and both are produced in good faith. The 2025 survey medians cluster at 101%. ChartMogul's December 2025 report, which reads retention straight out of billing systems for about 2,700 B2B SaaS companies above $250,000 ARR, puts the median at 82%. Neither is wrong. The survey population skews toward larger, sales-led, venture-connected companies that answer surveys; the platform population skews toward smaller self-serve businesses.
| Cause | What it does to the number | How to detect it |
|---|---|---|
| Population | Moves net revenue retention by up to 19 points between survey and billing-platform data | Read the population sentence. Private B2B SaaS above $1M ARR is a different animal from every company on a billing platform |
| Definition | Changes net revenue retention by several points depending on whether new logos, multi-year uplifts and mid-term upgrades are counted | Find the formula in the report. If it is not published, the number cannot be reconciled with yours |
| Data year | Retention peaked in 2021 and drifted down since, so a 2021 figure flatters everyone | Look for the measurement period, not the publication date. A 2026 report usually carries 2024 or 2025 data |
| Per-chart sample | Turns a median of hundreds into a median of six, as in one Benchmarkit expansion cell | Read the N printed on the chart itself, not the headline participant count |
| Self-selection | Lifts every survey median, because companies having a bad year skip the survey | Check how respondents were recruited. Syndication through investor portfolios is the usual route |
The same failure mode produces the numbers you cannot trace at all. When a page gives you a retention or coverage figure with no publisher, no sample and no year, it was copied from a page that copied it from a page. How much churn is normal for a B2B SaaS startup walks through the retention figures specifically and where each one comes from.
“The way customer health is measured seems to differ customer to customer (different benchmarks seem to have different weight for different customers)”
Which customer success metrics have no trustworthy benchmark?
Nine customer success metrics have no public benchmark with a disclosed method as of September 2026, and they are the nine people ask for most. We looked for each one, read what came back, and rejected sources that published a figure without a sample, a date or a definition. The internal substitute in the third column is what to build instead, and in every case it is more useful than the borrowed number would have been.
“No clarity on what industry averages on software cost increase is.”
| Metric | Why no figure is usable | Internal substitute |
|---|---|---|
| Accounts per CSM | The widely quoted 110 for SMB, 35 for mid-market and 10.5 for enterprise come from one secondary analysis with no respondent count and no median or mean label | Your own coverage maths: renewals per quarter, hours per account tier, hours available per CSM |
| ARR per CSM | Same source, same problem. The underlying survey is gated and the sample is not published | ARR per CSM by segment across your own accounts, tracked over four quarters against gross retention |
| CS spend as a share of revenue | No non-competitor publisher discloses it. It appears only inside an expansion CAC formula | Fully loaded CS cost divided by the ARR that CS is accountable for, recomputed each quarter |
| Renewal forecast accuracy | Nothing exists anywhere with a method. Consultancy pages assert the same range in near-identical wording | Forecast against actual at 90, 60 and 30 days out, per quarter, tracked as a variance trend |
| Logo churn by segment and ACV | No well-methodised B2B SaaS logo-churn dataset is in public circulation. Network data from payment platforms is dominated by consumer merchants | Gross revenue retention as the proxy, with logo churn computed separately per segment |
| Time to first value | The only dataset measures end-user activation inside products, not account-level value delivery, and does not state mean or median | Your own first-value milestone, timestamped, measured from contract date by contract band |
| Onboarding duration by contract size | Nothing published. Every source located recycles the same product-analytics numbers, sometimes relabelled by year | Median days from signature to first value in your own last four quarters, split by band |
| Support tickets per customer | Vendor blogs citing vendor blogs, contradicting each other on the same channel | Band medians from your own helpdesk export, refreshed quarterly |
| Cost to acquire versus cost to retain | The five-times claim traces to research in the late 1980s and the authors of the book that examined it call it a fallacy they had themselves repeated | CAC payback months, which is measured and published, compared against your own retention |
The last row deserves its own sentence, because it is repeated in almost every retention deck. Ipsos Loyalty's own historiography traces the claim that it costs five times more to acquire a customer than to retain one to the Technical Assistance Research Project in Washington DC in the late 1980s, and the authors write that the claim is a fallacy they had previously published themselves. It is not Reichheld's finding, and it is not supported. Use CAC payback months instead, which High Alpha does publish: a median of 5 months below $1M ARR rising to 20 months at $20M to $50M ARR in its 2025 report.
How do I benchmark customer success metrics against my own accounts?
Internal benchmarking beats a borrowed median for every metric in the nine-row table, because your own accounts already control for product, price point and market. Compare segment against segment, cohort against cohort and this year against last, with the definition written down once so nobody relitigates it next quarter.
“Besides that, it's hard to benchmark usage statistics of clients.”
Write the definition down before you compute anything
One page: the formula, the cohort rule, the date the cohort is measured on, what counts as contraction, how multi-year contracts are annualised. Every disagreement later traces back to this page not existing.
Cut your own accounts into four comparable groups
Contract band, segment, product line and acquisition channel. Four groups of 25 accounts tell you more than one number over 100, because the spread between them is the finding.
Compute the metric for each group over four quarters
Four quarters, not one, so a single large renewal cannot set the story. The NRR calculator and GRR calculator run both retention numbers from your own figures.
Rank the groups and name the gap
The question is no longer whether 88% is good. It is why enterprise sits at 94% and mid-market at 81% when both are served by the same team, and which of the two is moving.
Attach the external benchmark last, with its receipt
Match your band to the published band, quote the publisher, the data year and the per-chart sample in the same sentence, and state the definition difference if there is one.
Recompute on a fixed date each quarter
Same day, same query, same definition. A benchmark you recompute differently each time measures your query, not your accounts.
NRR = (Starting ARR + Expansion − Contraction − Churned ARR) ÷ Starting ARR
- Starting ARR
- ARR from customers who were paying on the first day of the period. New logos signed during the period are excluded
- Expansion
- upsell, cross-sell and seat growth inside that same cohort during the period
- Contraction
- downgrades and seat reductions inside the cohort, counted at the date they take effect
- What good looks like
- the 2025 median for private B2B SaaS was 101% from more than 1,000 companies in SaaS Capital's survey, and 104% for bootstrapped companies in the same data
Expansion share = Expansion ARR ÷ (New customer ARR + Expansion ARR)
- Expansion ARR
- ARR added inside existing customers during the period, before subtracting contraction
- New customer ARR
- ARR from logos signed in the same period
- What good looks like
- High Alpha's 2025 medians run 15% below $1M ARR, 34% at $5M to $20M and 60% above $50M, so the expected share rises with size and a flat share as you grow is the finding
Worked example
A $9M ARR company reports 96% net revenue retention and wants to know whether that is bad. Median ACV is $22,000, which puts it in SaaS Capital's $12,000 to $25,000 band where the 2025 median was 103% and the 25th percentile was 98%. That is a genuine gap of about 7 points against the median. Cutting its own accounts by segment: enterprise sits at 109%, mid-market at 97% and the self-serve tier at 74%, and the self-serve tier is 40% of logos but 11% of ARR. The company does not have a retention problem, it has a self-serve tier that should be priced or served differently. These figures are illustrative; run the cut on your own accounts.
“We've also had success with building Account Segments and Reports to benchmark like-customers.”
What should a benchmark slide for customer success metrics show?
A benchmark slide earns its place when it shows the comparison, the receipt and the action. Board members who have seen a hundred of these will ask two questions: who else is in that median, and what would move ours. A slide carrying a single industry average with no source invites both questions and answers neither.
Before the number goes in the deck
- The publisher, the data year and the sample behind that specific chart are on the slide, not in a footnote nobody reads.
- Your metric uses the same formula as the published one, or the difference is stated in a line.
- Your ACV or ARR band is matched to the band the benchmark reports.
- Survey figures are labelled as self-reported and platform figures as measured on a different population.
- Gross and net revenue retention appear together, on the same cohort and the same period.
- One internal cut is shown alongside the external comparison, usually the segment spread.
- No metric from the nine-row table above appears with an external number attached.
- The date and query behind your own figure are recorded so next quarter is comparable.
“I have no benchmarks for success. No KPIs/Metrics to work towards. I have no idea what Success looks like for this role.”
That CSM is describing the other half of benchmarking, the half a board slide does not solve. An external median tells a leader whether the company is behind. It tells a CSM nothing about what to do on Monday, which is why the internal cuts matter more than the published one. How do I measure customer success team impact for a CEO and CFO covers the version of this argument that gets made to a finance audience, and why customer success metrics disagree with finance covers what to do when your own two systems cannot agree before you even reach the benchmark.
How does GainTrace help benchmark customer success metrics?
GainTrace computes retention, expansion and coverage from your billing and CRM data on one stated definition, so the internal cuts in this page exist without a quarterly spreadsheet exercise. Segment, band and cohort comparisons come out of the same query each quarter, which is what makes an external comparison safe to attach. Renewal forecasting shows the retention numbers as they move, and customer success leaders covers the reporting view a board asks for.
Frequently asked questions
Where do I find real CS benchmarks for a company our size?
Why does every benchmark report give a different number for retention?
How many accounts per CSM is the industry standard?
Can I trust SaaS benchmark reports?
Is it true that acquiring a customer costs five times more than retaining one?
What do I do when no benchmark exists for the metric I need?
How this was researched
We compiled every public B2B SaaS benchmark source we could verify in September 2026, read each publisher's stated method, and rejected any figure without a disclosed sample, date or definition. Usable figures come from SaaS Capital Research Brief 32 (September 2025), High Alpha's 2025 SaaS Benchmarks, Benchmarkit with Pavilion (May 2025), ChartMogul (December 2025), Mostly Metrics (January 2026), KeyBanc and Sapphire (November 2025) and Userpilot (June 2024). The five-times acquisition claim was checked against Ipsos Loyalty's own historiography. Practitioner quotes come from a corpus of 4,978 public G2 reviews of five customer success platforms, of which 14 mention benchmarking (0.3%), and 33,600 Reddit posts from May 2024 to September 2026, of which 76 mention benchmarks. The nine-metric gap table, the receipt and the internal method are our own analysis; the worked example uses illustrative figures.
- SaaS Capital, 2025 B2B SaaS Retention Benchmarks (Research Brief 32)
- High Alpha, 2025 SaaS Benchmarks Report
- Benchmarkit and Pavilion, 2025 B2B SaaS Performance Metrics Benchmarks
- ChartMogul, The SaaS Retention Report: The AI churn wave
- Mostly Metrics, The Customer Success Benchmarks You Have Been Waiting For
- Ipsos Loyalty, Loyalty Myth 8: it costs five times more to acquire than to retain
Write your metric definitions down this week, cut your own accounts four ways, and attach the external benchmark last. Start free or book a demo.
See GainTrace first in your Google results
Add as a preferredsource on Google